Skip to the content

Notice of Election - Council and Community Elections 5th May 2022

Abergavenny Town Council Crest
Notice of Election - Council and Community Elections 5th May 2022

On the 5th May 2022, local authorities across Wales will be holding elections to the County Council and Town/Community Councils within their areas.

For Abergavenny, there will be elections to elect 5 County Councillors and 17 town councillors.  

Notice of election - Election of Councillors Community/Town Councillors (also available in Welsh )

Notice of election - Election of Councillors Monmouthshire County Council (also available in Welsh )

There will be 6 polling stations open throughout Abergavenny between 7am and 10pm on the 5th May 2022 to enable you to cast your vote. In order to cast your vote you must be registered on the electoral roll. Every elector registered to vote will be sent a poll card by the end of March 2022 – this will tell you which polling station you are allocated to and how to cast your vote. If you do not receive your poll card by the end of March you should contact Monmouthshire County Council on 01633 644212 to check if you are registered to vote.

Registering to Vote

If you want to vote at this election you must ensure you have registered to vote. Please register now if you have not already done so or not recieved your poll card. You can register online at and will need your national insurance number and date of birth in order to complete the registration process.

Applications to register to vote must be received by the 14th April 2021 to be applicable for these elections.

If you are turning 16 on or before the 5th May 2022 you will be eligible to vote in these elections for the first time. You do not need to wait until you are 16 to register to vote. Register to vote before you turn 16 to ensure you are registered and eligible to vote at the election.

Voting by Post or Proxy

If you not going to be able to visit a polling station or would prefer to vote by other means then you can make alternative arrangements to vote by post, or appoint a proxy to vote on your behalf at your polling station. You can contact the elections office on 01633 644212 or email . Applications can be returned as scanned images to the above email address or by post to Electoral Registration, Monmouthshire County Council, County Hall, The Rhadyr, Usk, NP15 1GA.

Postal votes will be dispatched in two tranches. Any elector who is registered for a postal vote by the 30th March 2022 can expect to receive their postal vote around the 22nd April 2022. Anyone applying for a postal vote after this date can expect to receive their postal vote no later than the 28th April 2022. You will need to consider these dates when applying for a postal vote to ensure you are available to complete and return the postal vote to us.

Applications for voting by post must be submitted accurately by 5pm on the 19th April 2022.

Applications for voting by proxy must be submitted accurately to us by 5pm on the 26th April 2022.

A guide on how to complete and return your postal vote is included within your postal vote.

If you do not receive your postal vote as expected, a replacement cannot be issued until the 29th April 2022. We would recommend you visit County Hall, Usk bringing photographic ID with you, to obtain a replacement postal vote rather than rely on another to be posted to you given the close proximity to polling day.

Whilst you are entitled to deliver your postal vote to any polling station within the Monmouth Constituency on polling day we would encourage you to return the postal vote to us in the post as soon as possible. Arrangements at polling stations will be different due to the pandemic and may result in queues at the polling stations.

16 & 17 year old voters

These elections will be the first time 16 & 17 year olds can vote in local elections following the Senedd elections in May 2021 where they could vote for the first time.

What and who am I voting for?

Abergavenny will be increasing to 6 Wards covered by 17 Town Councillors. These wards will be Cantref, Grofield, Lansdown, Llanwenarth Citra, Park, and Pan Y Fal.  There will also be 5 County Councillors representing these 6 wards.

Candidates wishing to stand for election will need to submit nomination papers to the Returning Officer no later than 4pm on the 5th April 2022. Only at the point will the details of the candidates be known and be publicly available.

We will publish the details of candidates standing for election on the 6th April 2022.

How do I know the result of the election?

Voting in this election will take place on the 5th May 2022 however the counting of the votes wont take place until the following day. Throughout the afternoon and evening of the 6th May 2022 the election results will be available on the Council website for you to see the results and who your new councillors are.


Town Council

Town Hall
Cross Street

T: 01873 735820


To find out more about what we do...